New Arts Council Chair & members announced

I’ve been laid low with the flu for the last week (and still recovering!), so sorry for lags in posting/updates! A bit of big news in the meantime:

17 December 2008: Arts Council Director welcomes new Arts Council members

The Director of the Arts Council, Mary Cloake, today welcomed Pat Moylan as chairperson of the Arts Council, as well as new Council members.

“I am delighted to welcome Pat Moylan as the new chairperson of the Arts Council, and my staff and I are looking forward to working closely with her in the weeks and months ahead,” said Ms Cloake.

“The arts are part of us all; they define us as a society and our artists shape our future. In these straitened economic times, the new Council will be working harder than ever to promote the value of the arts, and ensure that people right across the country experience the best of the arts,” Ms Cloake added.

Along with Ms Moylan, the members announced today by the Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism, Martin Cullen TD, are: Louise Donlon; Paul Johnson; Fiona Kearney; Sheila O’Neill; Orlaith McBride; and Caroline Senior.

Ms Moylan and the new members of the Council join the six current members: Maurice Foley, deputy chairperson; John Crumlish; Philip King; Aibhlín McCrann; Alan Stanford; and Colm Tóibín.

Ms Cloake also paid tribute to the outgoing members: “On behalf of all staff who worked with the outgoing Chair, Olive Braiden, and Council members, I would like to express my thanks to them for five years of hard work and commitment” said Ms Cloake.

(read the rest of the release)